Good luck Job Centre, you’re gonna need it…

I have to go to the Job Centre on Friday. In fact, I have to go to the Job Centre every Friday because I’m now on JSA.

My mandatory reconsideration for my ESA claim was denied, which I already knew it was going to be. I could appeal, but I got 6 points out of 15 so it seems a bit pointless. Normally I’d be the first one going “no, you must appeal, try everything you can!” but to be honest I’m a bit knackered by the whole thing and after not being successful at my PIP appeal last year I’m not massively inclined to go through another one. So, hurrah, the system works! Y’know, the one where they keep saying no until you’re too tired and generally exhausted to try getting them to change their minds.

So I’m on JSA. I have a Claimant Commitment and I’m on Universal Jobmatch and I’m just waiting for the ideal job to come along…the one where I can be paid a full working week’s wages for three hours work conducted mostly while sleeping. That job.

In a fantastic twist of irony I’m actually better off now than I was on the assessment rate of ESA – assessment rate ESA is the same as the base rate of JSA – £73.10 a week – but on JSA I get “extra money because you’re disabled” (that’s literally what the extra is called on my JSA letter) bringing my weekly JSA up to £105.35 a week. Today my fatigue and pain were enough that I couldn’t walk from my sofa to my kitchen (for context: I could fall off the sofa and almost touch the kitchen they’re that close but I’ve just moved house and have no carpets so that would be a risky move). But of course on JSA you have to job search and “be available for work” which I guess I am if the work involves sitting on the sofa in my PJs knitting socks.*

*I would like to state for the record that I will happily take any job that involves sitting on my sofa in my PJs knitting socks

So I guess I want to wish the Job Centre good luck in finding me a job, I suppose. My tactic currently is to turn up weekly and say “nope, didn’t find anything I can physically do this week, sorry” for the foreseeable future and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

